Say it like you mean it!

12832407_1569999203290614_983257132943373822_n….. and say it like you mean it!

The way we speak is innate in ourselves. We can’t change our voices…. Or can we?

When my daughter was very little I left Australia and my husband.  I came back to England as a single mother.   I lost my voice and I kept losing it.  I know… I know many of you will now smile and think – good news!  It is, however, a hard thing to manage, especially when talking is my job and how I earn your money.  After about the 3rd time of losing my voice I ended up going to a Speech Therapist.  She taught me to modulate my voice how to raise and lower my voice – how to change it.

Have you noticed that when you talk to children very often people raise their voices to a higher pitch which is easier for babies and little children to relate to …. because it is gentler than the harsh loud and deep voices which are often heard and can make them cry – they think they are being shouted at or told off.

Communication is about different parts –the actual words we use, our physiology (the body language) the way we speak, the tonality, the pitch, the volume.

The pitch is the level of the sound frequency at which the word(s) are spoken. Speaking at a higher pitch conveys excitement, even nervousness perhaps, whereas lower pitches convey calmness and can indicate confidence and certainty.
An inflection is a change in the pitch. For example, an upward inflection is common at the end of a question e.g. You might ask a friend who is visiting you: “Hungry?”

Different inflections convey different meanings. Saying “Really?” with a downward inflection at the end implies doubt and suspicion, but with an upward inflection it conveys surprise and interest.

Have you ever played the game with a friend where you pick one word and have a whole conversation about it?   Yes ok – I’m guessing it is more a female (or Tina) game.  What I am suggesting is that you consider the many ways you could say ‘Really’ or “NO” or even “YES” for example bored, or very surprised, or with deep sympathy, etc. the various meanings being communicated just by appropriate inflection.  I recommend you have a go with your friends, family, or colleagues at work.  Using the word REALLY bat it back and forth a few times – use different inflection – use body language, stand up , sit down, roll your eyes and so on.  It’s fascinating to do this.  Did it make you smile? Did it make you laugh? Let me know below (in the comments) what you noticed.

In summary I’d like to point out how amazing our ability to communicate is.  How we can change HOW we speak with highs or lows; quiet or loud and even fast or slow.  It can make different meanings.  Thereby agreeing with the premise that it is not what you say but HOW you say it.  Be careful out there peeps!  You have a dangerous tool at your fingertips or tongue even. Would you like a few pointers to help you get your point across? Would you like some help making some choices?  Get in touch with The Inspiration People and we will see if we can work together to make it happen. #hypnotherapyascot #choiceisgood

 

About Hypnotherapy Ascot

I'm an NLP Hypnotherapist, Coach and Trainer. I am very interested in how the mind works and how it works so beautifully with the body to create all sorts of things which we want. We might not know we want it but our mind does ;)
This entry was posted in Ascot, Happiness, Hypnotherapy, NLP Hypnotherapy, Personal Development, Positivity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.